Friday Flash Back – Christmas in July – All That Glitters Christmas

One of the things that I love about the concept of Christmas in July – as well as being able to celebrate with the weather the opposite part of the hemisphere enjoys – is that it starts me thinking about what I am going to be creating this Christmas.

Thank you for joining me today for our Christmas in July Friday Flashback. This week we are looking at a wonderful collection – All That Glitters Christmas.

All that Glitters – Christmas was the first Christmas collection that I created using Iridescent Embroidery Film (Mylar).

xmas18

Back when I created these designs in 2011, Iridescent Film was still fairly new in Australia (I had first brought this back from a buying trip in late 2009). Whilst I had created many other collections using this film, it was the first time I had tackled a christmas collection.

xmas14

I fell in love with these designs because of their simplicity. I am a less is more kind of Christmas person, and I really love the elegant look these designs have.

xmas10

Whilst the designs give the appearance of being a single colour, there is a layer of colour matching thread under the detail stitching, which holds down the Iridescent Film.

xmas1

This collection is a massive collection, including a total of 20 different designs. There are 10 designs that are individual elements, and 10 designs that are Christmas baubles, with swirly detail.

xmas12

I have had a wonderful time with these designs over the years. The first Christmas I used these designs, I created serviettes, with the design right in the middle of the serviette, and then rolled the serviette so that it resembled a Christmas cracker, with the ends tied with ribbon.  I keep on hinting that this would be a wonderful way for my darling husband to gift me a beautiful piece of jewellery at Christmas, but at the time of writing, he still hasn’t taken the hint.

bonbons

I have also completed a larger project, using the Christmas baubles with the swirly details to create a tablecloth. When you are creating a tablecloth, the important things are to measure everything from the centre of the tablecloth, and always use templates.

Other ways that I could really see these designs going well would be on a mantle cloth above a fireplace (I can just imagine firelight glinting off the Iridescent Film), or on a table runner.

xmas3

For some reason, I have only ever stitched these designs using a gold tone thread. Not metallic – but I have a wonderful thread that is gold in tone, almost to the point of having a little green in it.  For some reason, this thread really works well for these designs, and I have always used this colour.  Having said that, I could also see the designs working well with a forest green, or burgundy thread for a more traditional Christmas look.

When we first released the All that Glitters Christmas designs, we gave away the beautiful small Christmas bauble design as a freebie (you can find it HERE). For the next week, as a thank you to all of our loyal readers, we are also offering another design from this collection. Click HERE to download yours today.

xmas14

I hope you have enjoyed this flashback, and I would love to see pictures of your own Christmas stitching. Until next time, as always, have a Stitchin’ Day.  Julie.

Leave a Reply

