Friday Flashback – Christmas in July – Gingerbread House Designs

 

Hello, and thank you so much for taking the time to read this blog post. All this month, we are celebrating Christmas in July, by taking a look at a few of my favourite Christmas Designs.  This week I am going to focus on the first ever Christmas design that I created.  The Gingerbread House

JMH005project

This gingerbread house is soooo cute. Made entirely out of felt, and lined with cardboard and fabric, the gingerbread house is the perfect accompaniment for any Christmas table.

I made this house in 2006, the same year that I began Julie Hall designs. At that time, there was no product available in Australia called stitch and shape (although if I had waited an extra year…..) so I had to find a way to support the box by myself.

My plan with the gingerbread house was to create a design that really did look like you have decorated a piece of gingerbread with lollies and sweets. There is a lot of stitching involved in this design, and each piece, whilst created in the hoop, is then pieced together with a sewing machine.  I actually re-stitched this house 2 years ago as a gift for someone, and I was so happy with the changes in technology since I developed this design, simply the thread trimming will save you a lot of time with this design.  I really love the way the edges of the gingerbread house have a brick like texture to look like real brick work.

ghouseside80 copy

The gingerbread house was created to fit perfectly into a 5×7 hoop, making the overall size of the house approximately 18x12x25cm. I love that I can load up the box with wrapped lollies, and have quite a treat all laid out.

Some of the tricks that I learnt whilst I was creating this design was in the art of joining pieces together.

  • Instead of using a basic zig-zag stitch, try going for a three part zig-zag, which will give you a much more secure join.
  • Use the spray glue sparingly, in a well ventilated area, I can still remember coughing all around the kitchen for a few hours after putting together a few of these without the door open and the air vent on.
  • Don’t attempt to place multiple pieces into the hoop (even though the hoop these days are larger). You will end up distorting (pulling) the felt, and will more than likely be dissatisfied with the result.

ghouse250 copy

Unfortunately, due to the nature of this design, I am unable to give away half of the house as a free design.  Instead, what I am offering all of my loyal readers is the opportunity to purchase these designs for half price.  For the next week, we are offering this gorgeous Christmas Design for half price.  Simply use the discount code INJULY at checkout.

Over the next few days, I will also be sharing with you the tutorial for this great house.  Keep your eye out for this great tutorial. Enjoy.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to read this post, and as always, have a Stitchin’ Day. Julie.

Leave a Reply

