The best laid plans….. and how I ended up in hospital instead of at a Craft Show!

I am a huge planner. If you ask my hubby it is probably one of the things he likes both most and least about me.

I had a great plan for this month. I was going to Toowoomba to do the Craft Alive Show, then teaching a class, dashing back to Canberra for Valentine’s Day, then off to Sydney for another Craft Alive Show, before coming home and getting heaps of work done.  I had meals prepped for when I was away, the calendar was up to date so nobody would miss out on anything.

All of that fell apart!

As many of you know, Australia had a heat wave a few weeks ago, and that happened to be when I was in Toowoomba. Whilst the family were sweltering through the heat wave in Canberra, I was struggling through it in Toowoomba.  Unfortunately, this was the straw that broke the camel’s back, and after a lifetime of never having an issue with health, or dehydration, I ended up dehydrated and quite ill.   I loved the Craft Alive Show, and had such a wonderful time meeting everybody, however when I got back to the hotel on Sunday night, it was in extreme agony, and I was having trouble drinking or eating anything.

I persevered onto the class on Monday – thank heavens their regular teacher was there as well, and fully assisted me, as I was near fainting the entire time – and got 400kms down the road on the journey home that evening.

On Tuesday I arrived home for a lovely dinner hubby had prepared (that I could not eat), and we both agreed something was wrong physically.

On Wednesday I got an appointment with the doctor, assuming that they would give me something to fix me, and the car would be packed by Wednesday evening for Sydney on Thursday. Instead I was sent for an immediate CT scan and blood work, after which they rushed me to hospital with a massive gallstone and inflamed gallbladder.

After lots of tests and doses of antibiotics, on Friday evening I was well enough that they were finally able to operate on me. 5 days later I am sitting at my desk in very little pain, with 5 keyhole marks on my belly (I attempted to get surgery upgraded with lap band and a tummy tuck but they wouldn’t do it), wondering where the week went.

I think the worst of it all though is just how long it has taken me to sit at the computer again, and how mushy my mind feels (hopefully from the anaesthetic).

I am so blessed and lucky to have a wonderful hubby and children (who are doing all of the cooking and cleaning for the next few weeks) – hubby just took two days of carers leave for me to make sure I was ok at home, and is now calling each hour to make sure I am ok, and not lifting anything. Having said that, their planning or lack of it is driving me batty!

So next week when you hear I am seeking medical care, it is from hubby and kids not writing a meal plan, not any real illness. 😉

Until next time, have a Stitchin’ Day. Julie.

Comments

  1. Helen Cassidy says:

    Hi Julie

    I am glad you are feeling better! Having been though the same operation a few years ago i do know how you are feeling.

    I went to Castle Hill craft alive to see you and was told when asked that you had surgery so i am glad you are ok and recovering. Will catch you another time. Take care.
    Helen

  2. Toni Grant says:

    Take care of yourself, and rest it is the best medicine

    • Hi Toni, thanks so much for the thoughts. I am healing nicely, and today I will be leaving the house for the first time (includes getting dressed 🙂

  3. Marilyn Fry says:

    Julie,
    I’m surprised you managed to drive home. Take care of yourself, pity they wouldn’t do additional op. My daughter tried the same thing 2 years ago when she had a 10 day old and had to have her gallbladder removed. So glad you are being spoilt. Put your feet up and remember you’re not meant to be lifting.
    Kind regards. Marilyn

    • Thanks so much Marilyn. I cannot imagine this happening with a baby. The lifting is the hardest thing, but I am going to attempt hooping on the weekend. (may need to teach the kids how to hoop correctly).

  4. Loretta santilli from Cairnlea says:

    Julie I:m so happy to hear you are on the mend. Take things slowly

    • Dear Loretta, thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am definitely on the mend, and looking forward to being able to get back into everything.

  5. Hope you’re starting to feel a little better Julie. So sorry to hear that you’ve been so ill.

    • Thank you so much Gail. On the up side, I am now feeling well enough that I am going to attempt stitching over the weekend (under the watchful eye of hubby).

Leave a Reply

