How was your day?

Don’t you just love that question?  My beloved husband and I say it every evening to each other, and I don’t know about you, but sometimes I just don’t have an answer for it.

I didn’t realise until I was talking to my Sister-In-Law on the phone the other night, just what the perception of my day might be like.  My lovely SIL is a working woman, who has chosen her career over kids and family (I respect her decision, and believe me there is no judgement here for the choices each individual makes), and she was mentioning how nice it would be to be like me and have some “time off”, where “you don’t have to do anything”.

So this was my morning of taking it easy ……

As a general rule, I spend my mornings stitching or digitising.  However this morning not only was I test stitching a new design, I was also photographing a set of designs that I have just put up on the site, the FaceOff collection of gorgeous animal faces, catching up on a tv show that I missed, and creating a tutorial on making the gorgeous handwarmers that you can see in the photo.

Lunch time for me is all about getting ahead.  I am happy to say that one of my guilty pleasures is Dr Phil, and generally I watch Dr Phil as I prep for dinner that evening (here we are having thai red chicken curry for dinner, and I am also prepping roast pumpkin soup for the next day), and get chores like laundry put away.

20160831_092923

After lunch I get time to get my posting out ready for the daily trip to the post office, and pick up whatever I may have forgotten at the shops, before it is home to greet the kids from school.

After school time for me is all about family, however as the kids are growing up, I am finding that I also manage to sneak in some work time here as well.

I found carrying my phone around for the day, and documenting my day remarkable, because I found I did much more than I thought I did.  Makes sense now why I am tired at the end of the day.

I truly don’t believe that I am any more “busy” “stressed” or “important” than any other person on the planet.  I look at some people out there and truly wonder how they do it.  By the other token, I am proud that I work full time in my own business (as well as part time as a contract trainer), and I realise that as humans we look at people and wish we could have it “easy” like them.  Just remember that easy ain’t always easy.

Until next time, have a Stitchin’ Day.

Leave a Reply

